Drunk Driving in Pennsylvania
In over 1,000 collisions investigated by Pennsylvania State Police over the recent Thanksgiving holiday, ten people lost their lives and 326 people were injured. Four of those fatalities and 103 collisions were alcohol-related.
In terms of arrests, in 2009, state troopers issued over 400 citations for driving under the influence (DUI) during the Thanksgiving weekend.
Also in 2009, Berks County alone saw 16 people die in alcohol-related accidents. In 2010, recent Pennsylvania statistics from the National Highway Safety Traffic Administration[H1] (NHTSA) show 433 people lost their lives in alcohol-fueled mishaps.
The numbers go on. After the accident, or the traffic stop, other statistics come into play.
In 2003, Pennsylvania DUI law was revised to combine prior arrests and blood alcohol content (BAC) when determining penalties for impaired driving. The tiered penalty structure looks like this:
- General impairment: .08 to .99 percent BAC
- High BAC: .10 to .159 percent BAC
- Highest BAC: .16 percent and higher
General impairment with no prior DUI arrest can yield six months probation and a $300 fine, while similar impairment with one prior DUI offense can lead to twelve-month license suspension and a $300 to $2,500 fine.
Understanding numbers is important when you drive. How many drinks did you have? How many hours ago? Before you become a statistic, call a friend and let him or her drive. And if you are arrested for DUI, call 877-442-9704—we can help you 24/7.