Pennsylvania State Police Target Underage Drinking
The Pennsylvania State Police announced plans to ramp up its focus on underage drinking in locations near colleges and universities across the state.
Through the effort, state police officials are meeting with university administrators, campus police officers and bar and restaurant owners to educate them on ways that they can prevent underage drinking both on and off campus.
Penalties for alcohol-related crimes
In Pennsylvania, anyone under the age of 21 caught drinking or in possession of alcohol may be cited with an underage drinking citation. A first offense comes with a fine of up to $500, with jail time also possible (but very rare). Subsequent offenses come with fines of up to $1,000.
Additionally, state law calls for a driver’s license suspension of 90 days for using a fake ID in an attempt to buy alcohol, and a one-year license suspension if it’s the person’s second conviction on that charge. The penalties increase from there, with three or more convictions resulting in at least a two-year license suspension.
A news release from the Pennsylvania State Police said that law enforcement officers would also be cracking down on those found to have sold alcohol to underage individuals.
All young people make mistakes, but when these mistakes result in criminal charges, it has the potential to impact individuals’ future. If you or your son or daughter has been cited or arrested for an alcohol-related crime, be sure to work with experienced Reading criminal defense lawyer David R. Eshelman.