424 Walnut Street, Reading, Pennsylvania 19601-3930
Call for Consultation 877-442-9704 Call for Consultation 877-442-9704

When Does a DUI Become a Felony?

Many DUI crimes are classified as misdemeanors, but when do the charges rise to the level of a felony? Each state has its own rules regarding DUI punishments, so it is important to be familiar with state law for Pennsylvania if you face DUI charges.

Here’s a quick overview of when Pennsylvania classifies a DUI as a felony.

  • Multiple DUI offenses within 10 years: Some third DUI offenses within 10 years and all fourth DUI offenses within 10 years are felonies in Pennsylvania.
  • Aggravated assault by vehicle while driving under the influence: This is another type of felony DUI penalty in Pennsylvania. This charge can be given if a drunk driver causes an accident that results in serious bodily injuries to the victim.
  • Homicide by vehicle while driving under the influence: This type of DUI crime involves a driver whose actions lead to a fatality. There may be multiple charges

For more information about DUI felony laws in Pennsylvania, contact experienced Reading, PA criminal defense lawyer David R. Eshelman.


Contact Form

We will respond to your inquiry in a timely fashion. Thank you.

Quick Contact Form